Thursday, April 28, 2011

NABE Let's Move! Flash Workout

NABEF is coordinating a "Let's Move! Flash Workout" featuring 16-time Grammy Award winner Beyoncé in support of First Lady Michelle Obama's initiative aimed at curbing childhood obesity.
On Tuesday, May 3, 2011 at 1:42 p.m. Eastern Time and across time zones (12:42 p.m. Central Time, 11:42 a.m. Mountain time, etc.), middle schools across the country will participate in the "Let's Move! Flash Workout." This historic event will underscore the importance of physical activity as part of a healthy lifestyle for children.
Music superstar Beyoncé is the exclusive featured artist for the Flash Workout event. Beyoncé has re-written and re-recorded one of her songs and has titled it "Move Your Body." She has also provided choreography in an instructional video that educators can use to help their students practice and prepare for event day. The song and instruction video have been produced in English and Spanish.
The event is being produced in partnership with the National Middle School Association (NMSA), the National School Boards Association (NSBA) and the American Association of School Administrators (AASA). Though these education partners, NABEF looks to secure participation by at least one middle school in each television DMA.
Our goal is to pair at least one local radio and television station with each participating school in each market. The local stations will be asked to cover the event, record the schools' routines as they are being performed and to consider streaming the event live on their websites.

No comments: